Move to content body Move to content menus


  • home
  • sitemap
  • korean




Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the highest decision-making body of the University. It is composed of seven Trustees who are inside members of SNU, and eight Trustees who are independent members. The Chairperson is elected by the Board of Trustees from among its members.

The Board of Trustees makes decisions on the following matters:
  • Matters relating to appointment of the President
  • Matters relating to appointment and dismissal of officers
  • Matters relating to Annual Operation Plan
  • Matters relating to budget and settlement of accounts
  • Matters relating to acquisition, disposition, and management of important properties
  • Matters relating to establishment or abolition of colleges or graduate schools
  • Matters relating to establishment or abolition of major administrative organizations
  • Matters relating to mid- and long-term operation and development of the university
  • Matters relating to amendment of the Articles of Incorporation
  • Matters relating to enactment, amendment, and abolition of the University Regulations and regulations pertaining to the University Council, the President Recommendation Committee, the University Committee on Academic Affairs, and the University Committee on Financial Affairs
  • Matters relating to establishment and management of the development fund of the university
  • Matters relating to issuance of long-term loans and university bonds
  • Matters requiring the Board of Trustees’ decision in accordance with the Act, the Articles of Incorporation, or other regulations
  • Other matters that the Board of Trustees deems necessary


  • JEON Soo-Ahn, Former Justice, Supreme Court of Korea


  • PARK Baeg-Beom, Vice Minister, Ministry of Education
  • KOO Yoon-Cheol, 2nd Vice Minister, Ministry of Economy and Finance
  • CHEY Chang-Won, CEO of SK Discovery Co. Ltd.
  • KWON Okyu, Former Deputy Prime Minister of Finance and Economy
  • NAMKOONG Keun, Former President of Seoul University of Science and Technology
  • CHI Eun Hee, Former Minister, Ministry of Gender Equality
  • LEE Ki Hyung, CEO of Interpark Holdings Co. Ltd.
  • OH Se-Jung, President of Seoul National University
  • HONG Keehyun, Vice President for Academic Affairs, SNU
  • YEO Jungsung, Vice President for Planning and Communication, SNU
  • HAN Ho Seong, SNU Professor, College of Medicine
  • KIM Byung Seop, SNU Professor Emeritus, Graduate School of Public Administration
  • KIM Hyeong Joon, SNU Professor Emeritus, College of Engineering
  • PARK Hyeoun-Ae, SNU Professor, College of Nursing
Last updated in 2020